5 songs that shaped my 2013

If the title wasn’t self explanatory, this is a list of the songs that meant a lot to me throughout 2013, for various reasons.
1. ‘Panic’ by The Smiths
This song was important this year because it was the first song that my band did a cover of. Admittedly it was a cover very different to the original song, but we were proud of ourselves, and it was the first moment we really got lost in the music, or performed in front of anyone
2. ‘Handwritten’ by The Gaslight Anthem
This is a song that I have cried to and celebrated to, if someone asked me what my favorite song was I would probably say this one. I fell in love with the song as soon as I heard it, I related to it immediately and use the lyrics as mottos to live by.
3. ‘Desolation Row’ by Bob Dylan
The lyrics to this song are what really interested me, I love long songs with lots of verses each flowing perfectly into one another and this is the perfect example. The way the story is portrayed in this song is so imaginative, and can be related to so many different things.
4. ‘Diane Young’ by Vampire Weekend
After going to see Vampire Weekend early in the year, and getting to stand very close to the stage I haven’t been able to get enough of this song. I love the fact that Diane Young is used instead of (spoiler alert I you haven’t yet figured it out) dying young, and I love how different it is to the rest of the album.
5. ‘Dancing in the Moonlight’ by Thin Lizzy
Everyone knows this song, and I was never particularly interested in it until my dad played me thisΒ cover version which made me think of the song as having a different meaning. I then felt as though I could relate to the lyrics and appreciate the cover and the original.
Leave a Reply

